Posted by: Jonathan Caswell | March 30, 2012

CAN’T GO HOME


CAN’T GO HOME

-

I can’t go home because

It isn’t as it was…

“My” house is still there

But it’s been used to care

For folks adjusting to the “outside” buzz.

-

I’ve turned State Hospital Blue,

Where my Dad worked for years and Mom too…

Where years of neglect

Many buildings have wrecked,

Where a wrecking ball may punch them through.

-

Field Days were many years past,

I don’t remember when the last

Patient carnival was

But I remember because

I saw a real bird carver’s last.

-

Our once self-sufficient “town”

Once vacated tends to run down…

The Beauty Shop no more

Resounds like a store,

The patients must go into town.

-

Most patient-filled buildings in ruins,

Some are kept up for other doings…

Campus fire and police

Still keep up their beats,

With a smaller circle of crewing.

-

Patients who stay are sicker,

Others in half-way homes quicker…

The institution

Made resolution

To not keep so many to dicker.

-

I could go on with much more,

The bakery, laundry and store…

The coal-fired steam plant

Pumps water but can’t

Be used for heating anymore.

-

Once home, where I grew up, exchanged

Its purpose for a world rearranged…

What went on before

No longer will soar,

I may visit, but it’s not home e’er again.

-

—Jonathan Caswell

Responses

  1. All things change and some not for the better, excellent write

  2. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:

    SOME OF MY PAST…YOU CAN’T GO HOME AGAIN…I CAN’T!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,534 other followers

