Posted by: Jonathan Caswell | April 14, 2012

JACOB AND JONATHAN


JACOB AND JONATHAN

 

Jacob was a deceiver,

In a very real way so was I…

Jacob was served by his elder

But feared Esau’s cry.

-

Jacob got his own back

In Laban’s fields for years…

His two wives kept him busy

While sharing bitter tears.

-

I am not like Jacob

For I married just one wife

And even if I had two,

I could bring no child to life.

-

My brother could have cried

“Mom always liked you best,”

I don’t know if that was true

Nor did I want it put to test.

-

So he and I have gone our ways

Like Esau and Israel…

Once we buried Dad

We’ve essentially said “farewell”.

-

—Jonathan Caswell

 

Responses

  1. wow powerful, emotional work really good write

    • Thank you kindly.

  2. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:

    SO MUCH TO LEARN FROM FAMILIAR STORIES!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,614 other followers

