Posted by: Jonathan Caswell | August 17, 2011

GRAVEYARD SHIFT


GRAVEYARD SHIFT

Remembering my third shift,

Overnight when the mind tends to drift…

While walking around

Hearing building sounds,

Recording my notes so they’re “cliffed.”**

To overnight sit in one place

Invites one to drift into space…

Regular walking tours

Helps one to endure

And keep a bright look on your face.

But ah, the joy driving back

Home, when dawn has cracked…

Seeing details come to light

After a long job done right,

Finally on a bed-bound track!

—Jonathan Caswell

(**NOTE:  “cliffed” = short and concise, like Cliff Notes for school)

Responses

  1. like this one the grave yard shift good job

    • THANKS—so does a guy who still works…”ON THE NIGHT SHIFT…!”

  2. Excellent thoughts

    • THANK YOU!

  3. […] Graveyard Shift (ourpoetrycorner.wordpress.com) GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "d6c08e"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "c5ae7c"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "000000"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "d8471d"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "d8471d"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "medicine"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "work-life"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "emergency-department"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "medical-specialties"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "medicine"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "neonatal-intensive-care-unit"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "primary-care"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Filed under Work Life and tagged Emergency department, Medical Specialties, Medicine, Neonatal intensive-care unit, Primary care | Leave a comment […]

  4. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  5. Great post, enjoy the appearance of the web page too.

  6. Some genuinely interesting information and facts, well written and loosely user pleasant.

  7. Happy Christmas greetings And warmest wishes too !

  8. To those we love and see each day and other loved ones far away To all good friends who mean so much, and those with whom were are of touch… Merry Christmas and best wishes for a happy New Year !

  9. Wishing you… Holiday joy, holiday cheer, And a whole lot of happiness all through the year!

  10. Wishing you… Holiday joy, holiday cheer, And a whole lot of happiness all through the year!

  11. To those we love and see each day and other loved ones far away To all good friends who mean so much, and those with whom were are of touch… Merry Christmas and best wishes for a happy New Year !

  12. Nice one for such type of great post and also review, We are totally impressed! Keep stuff like this coming.

  13. Wishing you a Merry Christmas and a Happy new Year !

  14. I dicovered it’s a helpful together with funny submitter, so I think it is very useful and professional. Thank you for ones efforts you get in crafting this software. I am wishing multiple wonderful function from you when as properly. practically your own creative making ability offers encouraged everyone.

  15. With Christmas greetings and all good wishes for the New Year to you all!

  16. With Christmas greetings and all good wishes for the New Year to you all!

  17. Excellent web site. Plenty regarding helpful info here. I’m posting it to a few friends ans also sharing in delicious. And logically, thanks in your own effort!

  18. Some great info, I’m pleased that I skimmed this.

  19. May His come bring you peace and blessings this Christmas !

  20. There may be noticeably a bundle to learn about this. I assume you made sure good factors in features also.

  21. I am not sure where you are getting your info, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for excellent information I was looking for this info for my mission.

  22. May His come bring you peace and blessings this Christmas !

  23. Is there ways to keep on top of blogs like this one?

    • subscribe to the rss feed- I am suggesting to everyone to try google.com/chrome as your search engine once there go to google reader and click on add subscription and then type in ourpoetrycorner@wordpress.com this will take care of the rss feed thanks and good luck

  24. Hi there, simply became alert to your weblog thru Google,my site is http://www.chilggoooto.com

  25. You talk with so a large number of points, so a lot essence, even though I grown to be aware that you have clearly reach the nail at the head. Well undertaken! I can immediately hold your rss feed to stay abreast of any upgrades. authentic work and much success ?nside your business endeavors!

  26. hello there and thanks for your info ¨C I¡¯ve definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did alternatively experience several technical issues the usage of this site, as I experienced to reload the web site a lot of times previous to I may get it to load properly. I had been thinking about in case your web hosting is OK? No longer that I am complaining, but slow loading cases times will very frequently impact your placement in google and could injury your high quality rating if advertising and ***********|advertising|advertising|advertising and *********** with Adwords. Well I am including this RSS to my email and can glance out for much more of your respective exciting content. Ensure that you replace this once more very soon..

  27. hello!,I love your writing very much! share we be in contact more about your article on AOL? I need an expert in this house to unravel my problem. Maybe that’s you! Looking forward to see you.

  28. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my blog so i came to “return the favor”.I am trying to find things to improve my site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  29. I sense this is probably the most important information in my position. And now i am happy looking through your guide Bob’s Blog page | Morning 3 within the ‘Que Walk. However plan to observation at some basic things, The web page style is ideal, the articles was in reality good. Just proper process, cheers.

  30. There is lots of aggresive bits of data right here|

  31. This information is granted a 2 thumbs upwards through me personally.|

  32. Kudos meant for offer this particular. i found superior time period encountered this.

  33. Great work with your post! I found this blog via Bing and I’m glad!

  34. Giant Wedesday. Great to meet you website, commenters and / or everyone else !!! Your blog was basically without doubt astounding! Lots of great media while contemplation, because both versions we all need!f Sustain Them flowing… all of you implement such type of congratulations are in order having kinds Configurations… don’t understand the amount of money Document, understanding be grateful for the actual work!.

  35. Of course, what a magnificent website and revealing posts, I surely will bookmark your website.All the Best!

  36. Hi dear, are you enjoying with this funny YouTube video? Hmmm, that’s nice, I am as well watching this YouTube funny video at the moment.

  37. You should check this out…

    […] Wonderful story, reckoned we could combine a few unrelated data, nevertheless really worth taking a look, whoa did one learn about Mid East has got more problerms as well […]……

  38. Read was interesting, stay in touch……

    […]please visit the sites we follow, including this one, as it represents our picks from the web[…]……

  39. Cool sites…

    […]we came across a cool site that you might enjoy. Take a look if you want[…]……

  40. Sources…

    […]check below, are some totally unrelated websites to ours, however, they are most trustworthy sources that we use[…]……

  41. It’s difficult to find knowledgeable people on this topic, but you seem like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  42. A gaming website recommends your website…

    […]What are the most effective websites and blogs specializing in reading and literature?[…]…

  43. These are actually wonderful ideas in regarding blogging. You have touched some pleasant factors here. Any way keep up wrinting.

  44. I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website. I’m hoping the same high-grade web site post from you in the upcoming as well. In fact your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own blog now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings fast. Your write up is a great example of it.

  45. As a Newbie, I am continuously browsing online for articles that can aid me. Thank you

  46. Excellent read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing a little research on that. And he actually bought me lunch since I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch!

  47. F*ckin’ awesome things here. I am very glad to see your article. Thanks a lot and i am looking forward to contact you. Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

  48. Very interesting points you have remarked, appreciate it for putting up.

  49. I visited a lot of website but I conceive this one holds something special in it. “The free man is he who does not fear to go to the end of his thought.” by Leon Blum.

  50. I truly appreciate this post. I have been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thank you again!

  51. I have recently started a website, the information you provide on this web site has helped me greatly. Thanks for all of your time & work. “Cultivation to the mind is as necessary as food to the body.” by Marcus Tullius Cicero.

  52. If you could e mail me with a few suggestions on just how you made your website look this good, I would be thankful.

    • go to wordpress.com to start a blog and choose what they offer it is all free so good luck!

  53. Sorry for the huge review, but I’m really loving the new Zune, and hope this, as well as the excellent reviews some other people have written, will help you decide if it’s the right choice for you.

  54. Not so negative. Interesting issues here

  55. I like this Blog..

  56. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks!

  57. You can certainly see your expertise in the work you write. The world hopes for even more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. Always follow your heart.

  58. I actually wanted to post a brief message in order to thank you for those fabulous facts you are sharing on this website. My long internet lookup has now been compensated with good quality insight to go over with my friends and classmates. I ‘d suppose that we website visitors actually are very lucky to live in a magnificent network with many brilliant people with beneficial methods. I feel very fortunate to have used your entire webpages and look forward to plenty of more enjoyable minutes reading here. Thanks a lot once again for everything.

  59. Thanks for another fantastic article. The place else may just anybody get that type of information in such an ideal approach of writing? I’ve a presentation next week, and I am at the search for such information.

  60. I must express some appreciation to this writer for rescuing me from this particular crisis. Right after researching throughout the the net and obtaining methods that were not helpful, I was thinking my entire life was well over. Being alive minus the strategies to the issues you have resolved all through your good guide is a critical case, as well as the ones which could have in a wrong way damaged my career if I had not encountered your web page. Your own training and kindness in playing with all the details was important. I am not sure what I would’ve done if I hadn’t come across such a point like this. I can also at this point look ahead to my future. Thanks a lot so much for this high quality and results-oriented guide. I will not be reluctant to propose your web sites to anyone who should have direction on this matter.

  61. Very good article. I certainly love this site. Thanks!

  62. This internet internet site is my aspiration, extremely outstanding design and Perfect articles.

  63. Google

    The time to read or visit the subject material or sites we have linked to below.

  64. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:

    REMEMBER CLIFF NOTES????


Leave a Reply

Categories

