Posted by: Ron DuBour | March 31, 2017

I Am Free~by Lilian Dipasupil Kunimasa


 

 

I Am Free

I am free, says a spring
Not so free, say pebbles gathered in a ring
Yet, the spring pushed out became a river
And the pebbles cried in horror of the reaver

I am free, says a stream
Not so free, the wall of rocks did scream
Yet, in fiery gush the stream pushed forward
And rocks melted to lava were spit outward

I am free, gentle winds blow
Not so free, the mountains stood to show
Yet, the winds pushed in a united form
And the mountains slide from the storm

I am free, says a tide
Not so free, laughed the land laid far wide
Yet, the tide called the sea to push and slam
And the land drowned with its iron steel dam

I am free, dainty butterfly declare
Not so free, the forest trees glare
Yet, butterfly flapped its wings on wind’s lane
And the trees were all uprooted by the hurricane

I am free, says a native child …

Leave a Reply

Categories

