Posted by: Ron DuBour | April 5, 2017

I remember this~by rldubour


 

 

I remember this

Image result for entertainer little boy animated on stage

When I was just a little boy I remember this.

How I loved those little girls, always tried to steal a kiss.

I was just a show off the center of attention,

In school I could not behave and always had detention!

If I should have a quarter I thought that I was rich,

I would buy a ton of penny candy, I remember this.

I remember all the games we played in the middle of the street.

I remember my first crush, thought she was really sweet.

I remember stopping school one day, was just in second grade.

I filled the auditorium and what a fuss they made.

I stood on stage and entertained, thought I was really something.

I knew then those little girls I had their hearts a pumping.

I know I sound conceited but this story is very true.

From that day on once a year I would sing every song I knew.

When I got to junior high the same thing happened there.

Only now the girls wore lipstick and I would have it everywhere!

Every day when I got home Mom would always say.

“Have you been kissing girls again?” When will you behave!

I can’t behave it’s too much fun not changing what I do.

I like to make the ladies smile and leave them all confused.

I never got to Hollywood or Memphis, Tennessee.

But, I still like to write and sing, it means a lot to me.

And if I can make them smile, I feel good inside.

I am just Thankful for my life, will be till I die.

Leave a Reply

Categories

