Posted by: Ron DuBour | April 8, 2017

Daily missive breaks into the weekend Saturday the 8th of April.~ With a little help from my friends.~by Peter Forster


 

 

Daily missive breaks into the weekend Saturday the 8th of April.
With a little help from my friends.

How will I know
What to do
When the truth is
I am lost without you.
People may not know
From the smile
And friendly appreciation
Of their concern
A look in the eye
And all seems well
Who can tell
When the fact is
My truest thoughts
Lie hidden
Beneath a layer of civility
And affability.
This is no way to run
A railway
Is a saying I used to hear
But what does it mean
When the propaganda
Machine is blowing
It is hard to see where I am going.
All I can do
Is drift on a tide of good wishes
Try not to
Feed myself to the fishes
Or pray on the good grace
Of the survivors
The couples who outlive us
Spend their time
On a cruise or two
Drinking sparkling wine
At the Captain’s table
I wouldn’t do that
Even if I was able
To crash the scene
With a story of what
Might have been
In another life
It is not worth the strife
Of telling tales being found out
Crossing fingers will not count
There is no easy way
To be in company
When you are lonely
There is only the half chance
Time will come together
In a gift of circumstance
A shuffling soft shoe
Patent leather dance
Will bring about
Recognition of a true romance
A broken heart
Is just the start of a long goodbye.
Whisper on a sixpence
As the train goes by
It is the worlds end
A station without an office
Information without knowledge
Give your soul to me
Let the whole world see
You are mine I am yours
Until eternity
Whenever that may be
Bring an end to me
Give this ghost a chance
Let one and one make three
And set me free.

Leave a Reply

Categories

