Posted by: Ron DuBour | April 19, 2017

Afraid to open my eyes ~by Joseph Harshberger


 

 

Afraid to open my eyes

Afraid to open my eyes and find the world is no more, or even worse; that it’s still the same with evil at it’s core.

I close my eyes and pray for things to change, for a life with loving people; not all of them estranged.

To open my eyes and find out there is peace, to be able to smile again and stop clenching my teeth.

I want to hear about love; instead of so much death, when does the execitioners axe ever have enough.

So much pain and anger running through our street, all the suffering must end; this endless cycle of defeat.

I close my eyes in fear of what’s to come, never knowing what tomorrow brings it’s left me feeling numb.

Please wake me when the world is safe, until that time; I’ll close my eyes and try my best to escape.

“Tomorrow”
Hour Drive Poetry©

Leave a Reply

Categories

