Posted by: Ron DuBour | April 19, 2017

Aftermath:~by Mohammed Michael Harfoush


 

 

Aftermath:

I thought about you long and hard today—
The ways in which I failed you and betrayed
Your tolerance for how I used to live,
And realized I’m just a hypocrite.

You weren’t trying to hide or to conceal
The remnants of your shady moonlit deals,
But even though you only hurt yourself,
This aftermath’s hurt everybody else.

Can I live with myself? For what I did
Rescinded any future you’d have lived.
Perhaps I should have ruminated more
Before I left you lying on that floor.

© 2017 Mohammed Michael Harfoush

Leave a Reply

Categories

