Posted by: Ron DuBour | April 19, 2017

I went for a walk~by Mark Cooper


 

 

I went for a walk

I went for a walk
In the woods
To see what I could find.
No cell phone service
Denied me
The ability to speak
No radio signal
Denied me
My ability to hear
No data hookup
Denied me
My ability to see.
Agitated in unfamiliarity
Feeling lost
Unable to breathe
I wanted to run
But needed to stay
To see what I could find.
Slowly it emerged
The breeze
Created a ballet of leaves
For me to see
Birds singing to their mates
Created music
For me to hear
Small animals skittering
All around me
Invited me to speak.
The lack of bustle
And the sounds
Of manmade busy-ness
Opened my mind,
My heart,
My soul.
I went for a walk
In the woods
To see what I could find
And I found me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

