Posted by: Ron DuBour | April 21, 2017

Daily missive for Friday the 21st of April.~by Peter Forster


 

 

Daily missive for Friday the 21st of April.

Whisper a kiss
Crush me with love
Gentle words
Linger longest
As an epitaph
Written in stone
Drink me a bottle
Upturn the glass
Fill it to the brim
Bring me a jug
Of forget me not grog
Bruise me a drop
Of mulled wine
Sing me a song
To fill the eyes
Like a photograph
Tell me a joke
Choke on your smoke
Hear me laugh.
When I am dead
Throw me away
With the worn out old bed
The charity clothes
Odd socks the shirts
And the shoes
Lock me up tight
In an old chest of drawers
Wrap me
In yesterday’s news.
I will not miss any
Overtures
Or cherish the cold light
Of day
Drag my old bones
To the cemetery
Lay me down
On the oldest of stones
Let me read
One more time
What those fine words say
Then leave me to sleep
On my own.

Leave a Reply

Categories

