Posted by: Ron DuBour | April 25, 2017

The courage to face my demons~by Joseph Harshberger


 

 

The courage to face my demons

The courage to face my demons each and every day, the strength it takes to stare down the barrel of a loaded gun; and not just walk away.

How many times must I cry myself to sleep, from all the haunting thoughts and emotional scarring all too deep.

To look at myself in the mirror and not hate what I see, to give life all I have; and show the world there’s so much more to me.

I write because I love it; and my quill is an extension of me, each word that I jot down on the paper; is one more second that I am free.

Life is all about illusion that we fool ourselves to believe, to find eternal love and happiness; the near impossible to achieve.

Each breath I take is precious; those moments I will cease, until the day I can close my eyes; finally at peace.

“Integrity”
Hour Drive Poetry©

Leave a Reply

Categories

