Posted by: Ron DuBour | April 30, 2017

Invention~by Paul F. Lenzi


 

 

Invention

machine-abstract_1280x1024_1317

“Machine Abstract” by Mi9

my dandy green engine
just sputtered and coughed
till I gave it a kick and
it licked into stride with
a great cosmic thrum as
it sucked in the carbon
emissions that hung from
the atmosphere cleansing
the blue like an art
restoration recaptures the
painter’s own light but
the off-switch just wouldn’t
respond and it sucked
down the sky with a whoosh
and then gurgled while
pulling the sea from its beds
next the cities went clattering
into its maw and I kicked
it and whacked it to no
real avail as I watched every
landscape and mountain
get swallowed an instant
ahead of the sun moon
and stars so with no love
of loneliness I had no choice
but to tuck in my chin and
dive into my beast leaving
then and forever an old
planet newly made clean and
pristine cold and dark with
one dandy machine that again
seized with sputter and cough

Responses

  1. thank you for sharing my poem with your readers


Leave a Reply

Categories

