Posted by: Ron DuBour | May 2, 2017

How many more times must I sit here and cry~by Joseph Harshberger


 

 

How many more times must I sit here and cry

How many more times must I sit here and cry, waiting for death to take me – when will I die.

My body is frail and hollow as a bone, there is no meat on me I’ve lost all muscle tone.

My family can no longer look at me – without breaking down in tears, the clock ticks away . . . moving closer toward their fears.

My appetite is fading – I just want to be pain free, I am tired of being brave – while this cancer slowly kills me.

My children need me – I need more time please, what did I ever do . . . to deserve this disease.

I hold them knowing this day might be my last, I will never see them grow up – please give me more time that’s all I ask.

You took my love from this world – much sooner than I ever planned, please Lord I beg of you just heed this one demand.

Time is against me like light it fades away, I know I will see my love soon but please I beg you not today.

“Last Request”
Hour Drive Poetry©

Leave a Reply

Categories

