Posted by: Ron DuBour | May 5, 2017

Daily missive for Friday the 5th of May.~by Peter Forster


 

 

Daily missive for Friday the 5th of May.

Prepare me
Issue a visa if required
Surely a passport will not
Be necessary.
Nothing really matters
In real time
Not with so much life
Spent in recollection.
Open secrets fall out of
Overhead lockers
Baggage is notorious
For its noncompliance
With protocol
And what is mine
Has always been yours.
I am an open book
In a dusty jacket
Read my story
It is a page turner
The least you can expect
On a long flight
Is a mystery tour.
Turbulence
Claims us all
What will happen
When my plunge goes unchecked .
A seat belt
Is only as good
As the landing
And I am in free fall
Waiting for an up-draft.
I saw a Red Kite today
It fell like a stone
Out of the sky
Pounced on a mouse
And was airborne
In the beating of a wing
It made my heart sing
If only for a moment.
A perfect pilot
Built to fly
A solo flight
Mine has been
Such a long haul.
Prepare me for landing
It is time
My baggage was redeemed.

Leave a Reply

Categories

