Posted by: Ron DuBour | May 7, 2017

Daily missive breaks into the weekend Sunday the 7th of May.~by Peter Forster


 

 

Daily missive breaks into the weekend Sunday the 7th of May.

Adrift
Hold me down
There is a lightness
To your touch
It might just be enough
To tether me
Better to feather me
And I will soar
Up into the distance
Further away from
The absence here
Palpable now
When the wind blows
And the curtain flutters
To reveal nothing
But a window.
Close it
No better yet
Open it a little wider
Let me slip through and away
The gap need not be great
My substance
Has been seriously reduced
Since our last embrace
Scorched its shadow
On my heart
An imprint
That will stay with me
Through the darkening
Which even now
Seeps in through
A crack in my façade.
Let me slip the knot
Perhaps
A wind will carry me
Further than today
Beyond collection
Out of reach
Of the circadian
Tossed and turned
On the rise and fall
A lost soul
On an infinite flight
Forsaken by truth
This long night
Outstretched into day
When waking
Is more akin to
The frightful fantasy
Of dreaming.

Leave a Reply

Categories

