Posted by: Ron DuBour | May 9, 2017

Daily missive for Tuesday the 9th of May.~ I can’t hear the rain.~by Peter Forster


 

 

Daily missive for Tuesday the 9th of May.
I can’t hear the rain.

Air so thick
It sticks to the skin
Leaving a water mark.
At high tide
There is no dry side
Drowning is an option.
Heavy is the day
Oppressed by the weight
Of a cloud blanket
Pulled so tight
Breathing is restricted
To short gasps of attrition
Suppressed by the
Restriction of buttoned lips.
Words so hard to come by
Their numbers are counted
In single digits
Written as victories for truth
Every bloodied letter
Torn from the throat
With forceps.
Holding my tongue
Has become a prison
Without a sentence
To rely on.
Hang me high
Hoist the petard
Let me feel the full force
Of self-delusion
It will engulf me
With the power of its reaction.
Even as the echo
Of its silence
Reverberates through my soul
I will be deafened
By its recoil
My own tired words swallowed
Before they are said.
You never listen
Tie me to this bed
Leave me until
I awake
Unless in truth
I am already dead.

Leave a Reply

Categories

