Posted by: Ron DuBour | May 11, 2017

Daily missive for Thursday the 11th of May.~ Hanging Tree.~by Peter Forster


 

 

Daily missive for Thursday the 11th of May.
Hanging Tree.

There is a proud oak tree
With a strong branch
Give me enough rope
I will swing it.
Dig a hole
When it is ready
Let me fall
The ground is prepared
And will soon engulf
My sorry remains
One last drink
Before I go
Take the bottle
Shake me up.
Easy is the way
To oblivion
I found it waiting
In the shadow
A smile
Soulless platitudes
Written in rhyme
Exposing the cruelty
Of life
As a blood sport
With few winners.
I have two coins
Place each one
Heads up
On my closed eyes
I will never live
To tell the tail.
Lay me down
Let me sleep
Cover me
In sack cloth
Six feet deep
I need a hole
Help me dig it.
And when it fits
Then let me fill it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

