Posted by: Ron DuBour | May 13, 2017

Daily missive breaks into the weekend Saturday the 13th of May.~by Peter Forster


 

 

Daily missive breaks into the weekend Saturday the 13th of May.

Prop me up
A little bit higher
Plump up the pillow
Where are my glasses
Let me see
What others make of me
I am weak
Nothing about this situation
Is dignified.
The last vestiges
Disappeared when my
Imagination
Conjured up the truth
And my cup really
Did runneth over.
The egg on my face
Is a bad joke
In need of a clean-up.
Hear me out
Bend in a little closer
Even my voice
Is harder to find
Than once it was
With slurred words
Falling over each other
In a blind rush
To escape
Before the last breath
Which may well
Smell foul.
It is what happens
When a mouthwash
Is a wet rag
Dragged across my lips
In a hurry
To get away
And a toothbrush
Is an ornament
In a bathroom
Out of reach since
The last fall.
I am glad to see you
Though I forget
Your name
There is a strange familiarity
In your face
It once was mine
Or maybe it belonged
To someone else
Who looked like me
I forget who.
Not to worry
Tell them
That I said hello
Why don’t you.
What did you want
From the cabinet
Take it whatever it was
I have little need of it now
At least
That is what I thought
You said
As you turned away
And wished me dead.

Leave a Reply

Categories

