Posted by: Ron DuBour | May 14, 2017

Mother, was always teaching~by rldubour


 

 

Mother, was always teaching

Image result for Mother, was always teaching

Religion:
“You better pray that comes out of my rug!’
And I did just that, then looked for a hug!

Logic:
“Because I said so, that’s why!”
No was no, but I had to try.

More Logic:
“If you fall out of that swing and break your neck,
you’re not going to the store with me.”
That made perfect sense to me if I did,
I would end up in emergency!

Foresight:
“Make sure you wear clean underwear,
in case you’re in an accident.”
After I fell out of the swing,
was something that she really meant

Time Travel:
“If you don’t straighten up, I’m going to knock you
into the middle of next week!”
And she would too, even had to pick your stick
to get smacked on your bottom cheeks!

Appreciation:
“If you’re going to kill each other, do it outside
I just finished cleaning.”
We wondered what she meant by that?
We came up with the wrong meaning.

Anticipation:
“Just wait until we get home.”
This was either good or bad,
Could not tell by her tone.

Justice:
“One day you’ll have kids, and I hope
they turn out just like you,”
First thought were of things we did,
that she never even knew!

Irony:
“Keep crying, and I’ll give you
something to cry about.”
Could not go for help with this,
Mom carried too much clout!

Behavior Modification:
“Stop acting like your father!”
At times Dad would get in moods
That’s when you didn’t want to bother!

Circle of life:
“I brought you into this world,
and I can take you out.”
What scared us most is how she said it,
She never had to shout.

ESP
“Put your sweater on; don’t you think
I know when you are cold?”
And then Mom had that tone again,
Best do what you were told.

Humor:
“When that lawn mower cuts off your toes,
don’t come running to me.”
That is really funny Mom, no sympathy
from her I see!

How to become and adult:
“If you don’t eat your vegetables,
you’ll never grow up.”
The only reply we could give and live
was OK Mom, yup.

Genetics:
“You’re just like your father.”
At least Mom did not insinuate
I acted like a daughter!

Receiving:
“You are going to get it
when you get home!”
A good feeling this was,
like a pressure dome.

Contortionist:
“Will you look at that dirt
on the back of your neck!”
Gee Mom, I eat with my hands,
so what the heck.”

Stamina:
“You’ll sit there until
all that spinach is gone.”
Not hungry? Then off to bed
something must be wrong.

Weather:
“This room of yours looks as if
a tornado went through it.”
It might have been a little messy,
this I do admit.

Osmosis:
“Shut your mouth and eat your dinner.”
When we complained about the food,
One look it took, we knew she was the winner.

Roots:
“Shut that door behind you. Do you think
you were born in a barn?”
As my memories do go back some
all the remarks were of no yarn!

Leave a Reply

Categories

