Posted by: Ron DuBour | May 16, 2017

Daily missive for Tuesday the 16th of May.~by Peter Forster


 

 

Daily missive for Tuesday the 16th of May.

I tried to keep up
Though I was small
Dragged along
Barely able to stand
Stubby little feet
Scrabbling on tip toe
Almost flying
My hand squashed
In his
It seemed so big
Hard and callused
Working hands
He made no concessions
Not even in chess
It was always play to win
Until he didn’t.
I hit the ground
And kept running
Everyday
My world expanded
And everything
Moved further away
But still I tried
To keep up
Sprinting through life
Breathless
Chasing dreams
Holding on to shadows
Fighting my corner
Even when
The chances of winning
Were small
I kept up
Dragging others along
Wary of their fall
Watching as they ran
Trying to keep up
Helping them on
Willing them to
Surpass me.
Even as I slowed
And began to limp
I was
Never afraid to lose
Until I did.

Leave a Reply

Categories

