Posted by: Ron DuBour | May 20, 2017

Daily missive breaks into the weekend for Saturday the 20th of May.~by Peter Forster


 

 

Daily missive breaks into the weekend for Saturday the 20th of May.

What will happen
To those things we have
With little value
To anybody
But to me and you
The vases and Buddha’s
Candle-holders ring binders
And cardboard folders
With old essays
Diploma’s and certificates
From years gone by.
The things we carried with us
No matter where we went
Old books and albums
The covers torn and bent
Do I take them with me
Wherever I may roam
Somewhere sometime
In the future I may call
Another place my home.
The pictures
Of our wedding
The renewal of our vows
The children and
Our parents
Where are they all now
Arranged to be respectful
Some of them are hung
They are full of beauty
In some we look so young
Now I sit before them
And wonder what it means
When things I see as treasures
Are just a row of beans.
These memories
Will come to haunt me
When I lay down to die
One last tear will fill my eye
As life goes flashing by
Remember what you whispered
When we were newly wed
I can hear those
Words I love you
Running through my head
And now I hear you calling
From where I do not know
But soon I will be with you
It is time for me to go.

Leave a Reply

Categories

