Posted by: Ron DuBour | May 22, 2017

Too Little, Too Late~by Paul F. Lenzi


 

 

Too Little, Too Late

melancholy

“Melancholy” by Edvard Munch

come tell me
what I need to
know of myself
tell me all
that I missed
when I didn’t
give near enough
care to pay
honest attention
when I gave you
nothing but
deafly turned ears
when I thought
of the two of us
I was the really
important one

now that I have
the full truth of us
I sit here terrified
unable even
to recall just
how many times
I let it occur
and how much of
your violet voice
I let vanish
before the
unpitying onset
of age and your
leaving me
taught me
to hear you

(originally posted December 2013)

Responses

  1. Sobering thought.

    • that was the mood I wanted to convey

  2. thank you for sharing my poem with your readers


Leave a Reply

Categories

