Posted by: Ron DuBour | May 31, 2017

Daily missive for Wednesday the 31st of May.~by Peter Forster


 

 

Daily missive for Wednesday the 31st of May.

One piece at a time
A single drawer here
A jewellery box there
I can feel the grip
Loosening
On the old things
Which define you.
Not the cards or love notes
They can stay where they are
Too hot to move
My fingers burn
At their touch.
Ear rings and pendants
Are sacred
I remember so many times
You asked which
Ones suited you best
It was always a test
And I passed it.
There remains
So much too precious
Almost a betrayal
To reveal
All that you were
And always will be to me.
Your handwriting
A thoughtful scrawl
On a pink notelet resonates
Each word
Written with style and grace
I look at it and see your face.
One thing at a time maybe
But whatever
I choose to lose
I will never forget
It is not a question
Not even a when
Or a yet.
As for now
I live to remember
The truth of you
And will
Until we are well met
Somewhere beyond
Sunset
On the heaven sent side
Of tomorrow.

Responses

  1. Just beautiful and truly heart-felt


Leave a Reply

Categories

