Posted by: Ron DuBour | June 6, 2017

red~by Ayoola Goodness Olanrewaju


 

 

red

touch my heart tonight. mother.
i am weak.

the world i carry in my skin is
killing me. and i am defiled like a city without walls. i walk the hems of
the night. looking for where to throw the child on my face.

is it a crime that i build a world on my body? that i paint
my heart. tongue and violet? that i have forgotten how
to love myself?

today. a boy hisses into my face. walks his teeth
into my groins. he eats me into red places. and

i feel like a curse.

each time i stretch my skin. men tear in. mean
beaks. they break bones. and drink my blood with abandon.

tell me. is this my destiny?

and if this is my destiny

mother. i writhe.

some men leave me broken. my skin calling for light.
they take my head.

bread.

and toss me like emptiness in the grips of night. i grope. they jeer and

watch me stumble and fall.

tomorrow will come. they will again. and break me.

touch my heart tonight. mother.
i am weak.

the world i carry in my skin is
killing me. and i am defiled like a city without walls. i walk the hems of
the night. looking for where to throw the child on my face.

tomorrow will come.

i shall hold the red sun in my teeth. and for once love myself.

Ayoola Goodness ©2017

Leave a Reply

Categories

