Posted by: Ron DuBour | July 5, 2017

Daily missive for Tuesday the 4th of July.~by Peter Forster


 

 

Daily missive for Tuesday the 4th of July.

Who do I talk to
When I am alone
Is it you.
It is not the Merlot
Loosening the tongue
The words come easily
Without lubrication
Walking in woods
Assaulted by beauty
And stinging nettles
Your voice
Whispers in my ear
We commune
It is a variety
Of sorts
A conversational caper.
We dance in my
Imagination
A coterie of two
Darting dragonflies
Tumbling river sprites.
Your laughter tinkles
A counterpoint
To the tumble of water
Over the weir
The caw of a crow
Never enough
To break the spell.
The magic of the moment
When your company
Is less than illusive
More than illusion
Presence becomes me.
Alone together
In a blather
Of unconstrained
Kitchen chatter
The haze of red wine
Banter
Pass the crystal decanter
Is it time for a top up?
There you are
To remind me
I must be good to myself
Put the bottle back
On the shelf
Breathe easy a while
Think for a moment
Remember your words
And smile.
Is it you
Do you hear me
Am I really alone here?

Leave a Reply

Categories

