Posted by: Ron DuBour | July 5, 2017

Daily missive for Wednesday the 5th of July.~by Peter Forster


 

 

Daily missive for Wednesday the 5th of July.

Is there substance
To me,
To what I believe.
Does it matter
If there is only this moment
No past to reclaim me
With precious little future
To be sure of.
When existence
Is a mathematical
Improbability
A random particle
The idea of ‘Nothing’
Seems to be the best I have
Going forward.
Will I ever know
What impression I leave
When logic dictates
Death is final
And yet the heart
Declares its reverence
To a soul.
What if consciousness
Is mere electricity
Are we nothing
More than a chemical
Anomaly.
But for random firing
An evolutionary mistake
Self-awareness
May not have created
This grand illusion.
Might I be happier
Not knowing
But when did ignorance
Ever sit comfortably.
Even Eden
Was a let down
A Utopian dream
That became a nightmare
To frighten children.
Am I the serpent in the tree
Snake in the grass
Monster under the bed.
What gives me substance
My question
Or my belief.

Leave a Reply

Categories

