Posted by: Ron DuBour | July 14, 2017

Daily missive for Friday the 14th of July.~by Peter Forster


 

 

Daily missive for Friday the 14th of July.

She was a gardener
With magic fingers
Everything grew
Nurtured back to health
A Midas touch.
Bruised leaves healed
Wild flowers grew
In a corner
On the edge of moor field
Bluebells in spring
A safe haven
For natural things.
Leaves were cleaned
With milk and cotton wool
Orchids bloomed
On a window sill
In the bathroom.
Crop rotation
Extended the growing season
Seeds preserved
In folded envelopes
Until time for sowing
Everything planted grew
Even me
And the children.
I am a gardener
Of sorts
Without magic fingers
I try to do
What was done before
With some success
Although nearer to a mess
Than the Eden it once was.
I am tempted
To let it go its own way
But I know
What she would say
So I bend my back
Fill a sack
With cuttings
Little snippets
Of nostalgia
And imagine her
Beside me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

