Posted by: Ron DuBour | July 17, 2017

Contrasts, a big pond and an affinity~by Jeremy J Croucher


 

 

Contrasts, a big pond and an affinity

As a rule you will find me
surrounded by green
I’m often the nicest place
you’ll have seen

             The winter skies are
              blue/grey and bright
               The reflection of snow
glimmers by night

I am generally quiet
where peace has a place
I encourage contentment
A feeling of grace

                The bustling city noise
    brings me alive
                 People quickly moving
     trying to thrive

My buildings are ancient
have seen many years
They capture emotion
of trials and cheers

            The Bistros, the clubs
          and the music joints
 I have so many
     I’ll not disappoint

The fragrance in my
environs you’ll find
will foster a spirit
that brings peace of mind

              The smog and emissions
fill up the air
                    But for me it brings comfort
that here I share

And most who live here
will be known by a name
To my rural surroundings
attest and acclaim

Lovers to most
          and friends to a few
         My urban life, fame
    and always anew

©Jem Croucher & Nadine Jordan, 2017

Photos – (top): Shoreham-by-Sea, Sussex, UK [from a postcard owned by the author], (bottom): Marysville, California, USA [from a postcard owned by Cardcow Vintage Postcards]

Contrasts, a big pond & and affinity is a collaboration between Jem Croucher (@ Jemverse) and Nadine Jordan of Marysville, California inspired by the Neighbourhood, created by the Public Blogger.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

