Posted by: Ron DuBour | July 17, 2017

Destructive Spite~by Stephen Miles


 

 

Destructive Spite

Destructive Spite written by SMiles at Spillwords.com

written by: SMiles

@stephenmiles2

 

Sassy black and aired grace, me and thee talking fine
divisional rain gathering storms greying out our fun
the shift ends culminating in umbilical recoil
clouds clear, the stoning grind slows, returning the sun

down trodden, worn out carpet doesn’t pay itself
intoxicated enquiries reveal, escapisms door is slammed shut
a return to face pressing, window slavering
desiring the unobtainable in a society of sobriety

Aldi this and Lidl that, Tesco beyond the reach
a twenty yard stare prevails passing the Waitrose, Sainsbury’s fair
watching envious as cars arrive the through and flow
comforted only by the knowledge Harrods millions are going slow

thrift shops and food banks a prop to daily lives
hoisting high and public, soaked to saturation miseries misfortunes
pegged for all to see from Westminster to Scotland
hung between invisible money trees

as jugglers juggle the high wire wench deals, deals
a props found under a mystical tree, enough to pay the ransom fee
facilitating the perpetuation of the winds from the right
blowing devastation north, with deliberate destructive spite.

 

SMiles

My name Is Stephen John Miles (SMiles) live in Barrow in Furness Cumbria England, I’m 53 diagnosed dyslexic at 47. Found my written voice once diagnosed and have been shouting ever since. I’ve a self published children’s book Zac’s leather elephant and a published children’s book The fox the owl and the big green towel, I have a new children’s book coming out later this year called Book of Zac. The books are published by Austin Macaulay. I made stories up to entertain my children all rhyming this led to the books. My break in poetry came after a friend of mine died and I wrote a poem for his funeral. Two years ago I appeared at the Bloomsbury festival in London. I write beat poems as it works well with my dyslexia. Something I feel strongly about is self expression after feeling excluded for so long. I’m not for everyone but then not everyone’s for me so that makes us even.
Leave a Reply

Categories

