Posted by: Ron DuBour | July 20, 2017

MY HEART MUST MEND~by Colin Hill


For Taylorlea who passed away in 2013 snatched away so young from cancer
a woman who taught me to love truly and deeply who gave me so many gifts
and helped form the writer and the man I am today. You are missed wherever you may be.

 

MY HEART MUST MEND

I miss that look the softness in those eyes
Now you’re laid right there I fall
You had the power to make me feel loved
Although I know I fall
My heart must mend

It was my soul that you invited in
And I remember everything
I loved you true more than I could say
I need to love again
You meant everything
My heart must mend

We were lovers
For a short time in this life
I miss your smile and your pearl green eyes
I hear your singing voice
That is what I miss now
I accept now that you died
My heart must mend

It was my soul that you invited in
For me you were everything
I loved you true more than I could say
I learn to laugh again
You meant everything
My heart must mend

You were so kind
Your heart was right
I really miss our silly nights
I miss waking up to hear you talk
And I miss how we would make love
My heart must mend

It was my soul that you invited in
You gave my heart the sweetest gift
I loved you true more than I could say
I need to love again
You meant everything
My heart must mend

This heart must mend
You would understand
My heart must mend

Written By

Colin Hill

Leave a Reply

Categories

