Posted by: Ron DuBour | July 26, 2017

Trespassers, delay and rhyme~by Jeremy J Croucher


 

 

Trespassers, delay and rhyme

Waiting for a railway train
to take me to my home
I’ll sit and write a poem
on the station on my own
It’s peaceful here, conducive
to find a little rhyme
and scribble down a verse or two
line by line by line

My train arrives, I find a seat
but at the station here we stay
The tannoy tells us trespassers
ahead are causing fray
They’re up there messing on the track
some way up ahead
So I’m not heading homeward now
Stuck right here instead

The conductor’s walking up and down
keeping us informed
But it looks as though we may be here
a while, we have been warned
Still, looking on the brighter side
As things could of course be worse
It means that I can finish off
this witty little verse

©Jemverse

Photo – a deserted Durrington-on-Sea station, Sussex, UK – Jempics

[PS – I did eventually get home – took over two hours though]

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

