Posted by: Ron DuBour | July 29, 2017

Daily missive breaks into the weekend for Saturday the 29th of July.~by Peter Forster


 

 

Daily missive breaks into the weekend for Saturday the 29th of July.

‘Don’t give up
Death like life is not painless.’

Cut the cord
It is an inconvenience
A temporary
Encumbrance
Holding me in limbo.
I hang around
Waiting for release
Teetering on the verge
Of falling
Perilously close
To the edge
Of nowhere,
I could call home
I have a phone.
Life is slipping
Inch by inch
Through my
Stone cold fingers
Less than hope lingers.
I held the safety line
When I thought
It was truly mine
But it was for anyone
Of a number
Who might have happened by
Like an angler’s lure
And now
I have lost the will
To let go
Of that I am sure.
If you release me
I will step into the night
I can feel the pull
Of its gravity
Sense its hunger.
Smell the mouldering fear
Of its victims
Some of whom
Fell in by accident
Too surprised
To put up a fight
Whilst I have been
Left to dangle
No more than
A gutted carcass
Bleeding out
In an abattoir.
Dried meat
My defeat uncured
This is no way
To treat a survivor.
I have been left
Hanging far too long
Cut the remaining ties
That bind
My poor blind eyes
Let me see
And set me free.

Leave a Reply

Categories

