Posted by: Ron DuBour | August 8, 2017

EYE OF THE SKELETON~by Balachandran Nair


 

 

EYE OF THE SKELETON

Without exert she glanced at window
………………………hinges broke loose
I, Eye, left…….traveled thru beautiful
……………….village of peasants poor
I bowed before an old mud heap
……where master’s old man rest.
I moved to a city wherein her son
……………studied, got a good job
Strolling ahead I saw him, stalled
…….in that foreign country, away
His wife too was working, had a
……..lovely son of ten years old.
I roamed around, looked into his heart
…………….for traces of love to his mom.
Love was there, but the whole of it
………..was spent on wife and child!
I strayed, stayed back tired, slept
…………for almost one year entire
Today I saw two flight tickets ready
……….one for himself, one for son.
He was going home to get blessings
……….of mom for birthday of his son.
Thrilled, I too accompanied him
……..to meet my master, lovely
The door was closed from inside,
……….no one answered the bells
Stout he smashed it open, entered
…………….child and myself followed.
I noticed window slot was wide open
……….just like I left it one year back
The chair was facing the window
……,…someone sitting there, still
A gown was gone partly down
……with fragment of dry flesh
Son stood stone-still, sighed,
…….child ran out of the room
To locate my home, I moved forward
……………saw two swire dried of tear
Now the son was coming in front
……he looked so weak and tired
With each step he put, her bones
…… crumbled to floor one by one
Do not cry, thus smile of a mom, sylph,
…………turn to dull snort of a skeleton!

…..bala…..
(c)08.08.2017/…bala….

Leave a Reply

Categories

