Posted by: Ron DuBour | April 22, 2018

One Week From Today~by rldubour


Lyrics::

 

One Week From Today

Image result for civil war cannons

I’ll be with my girl again just one week from today.
I’ll be with my girl again if everything goes my way.
Listen to the battle cry the war had just begun.
Listen to the cannons shout and to the cry of the guns.
Stayed awake for fourteen nights, got no sleep at all.
My legs they can’t hold me, just barely crawl.
Lay face down in the mud on the dirty ground.
The guns they keep on firing, from all around.
As the British keep on coming to the Lord I pray.
That I’ll be with my girl again, just one week from today.

I’ll be with my girl again just you wait and see.
If I have to climb a mountain or I am forced to swim the sea.
Listen to the cannons shout and to the cry of the guns.
Listen to the battle cry the war is almost won.
Listen to the British run as they make their retreat.
Listen to the British cry and suffer in defeat.
Under General Washington the word was to attack.
As we forced the British troops further and further back.
The British are getting weaker now it is just a matter of time.
For our men are getting eager now we got their whole front line.

I’ll be with my girl again just one week from today.
I’ll be with my girl again cause everything went my way.
Listen to the bugle boy he says that we have won.
Not a noise of a cannon now, not a noise of a gun.
I’ll be with my girl again cause she is the one I love.
I’ll be with my girl again, Lord answered from above.
The war is fully over now and we are all on our way.
We will never forget the sights we saw on that fatal day.
Now I’m in my baby’s arms here I’ll always stay.
Now I’m in my baby’s arms and I’ll never go away.

R.L. DuBour


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories