Posted by: Ron DuBour | February 17, 2019

SOLDIER~by Saroj K Padhi


 

 

SOLDIER

Image may contain: one or more people and people standing

Standing on the line of fire, near blasted trench
my tattered gum boots stuck in ice, as I stretch
eyes out into dim-lit, dark blank between borders
from where air fetches decaying carrions’ stench;

miles away from a camp, in hostile fangs of cold
with unfaded dream of eternal tricolor and honor
guard my country, by enemy’s bullets made bolder
bound by love to land, I’m a tired, hungry soldier;

hurt by stone-pelters, harassed by storms and rain
I tread valor’s sturdy path without caring for pain,
always ready to walk into the mouth of blind cannon
to come back to bereaved family, wrapped in coffin;

the poor Moon of my desires melts here under clouds
as a sheet of snow my luck, love and life, enshrouds.

Copy right @ Saroj K Padhi
P.c.Google


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories